BCRA - Bay Cities Racing Association

  • 1
Bay Cities Racing Association

Bay Cities Racing Association

See exciting wheel to wheel action throughout the year. Click here to find a BCRA event near you!

Tracy Taylor Memorial next up for the BCRA Lightning Sprints


Bay Cities Racing Association Lightning Sprints

Tracy Taylor Memorial next up for the BCRA Lightning Sprints

Next up for the Bay Cities Racing Association Lightning Sprint division is the annual "Tracy Taylor Memorial" to be held at Placerville Speedway Saturday night May 7th. The race named in honor of Tracy Taylor who was the public relations person for the then BCRA Midget Lite division. Since then the Midget Lite name has been changed to the BCRA Lightning Sprint division to keep up with current times. Tracy did a great job for the club and is fondly remembered for her dedication to the sport even during her battle with cancer which sadly took her life. This race has been held in her honor ever since lead by her brother John who raced and has owned Lightning Sprint race cars over the years. John won with Logan Seavey at the wheel as recently as the 2021 season ending races at Placerville Speedway.

With two races in the books so far this season Matt Land from Elk Grove is the early BCRA Lightning Sprint season points leader. Ironically, he is racing that race winning car from Placerville he bought from John Taylor so I am sure he is gunning to win the "Tracy Taylor Memorial". Former Champions Hunter Kinney from Citrus Heights is second with Livermore's Greg Dennett third. Woodland racer Tim Kinser is fourth and rounding out the top five is Brandon Leedy from Placerville in the season points. AJ Bender from San Diego won the first round at Placerville and Santa Barbra's David Gasper won the annual "Wayne Albright Memorial" at Merced. The scheduled April 16th race was rained out at Placerville. 23 cars have taken part in the first two races. The BCRA look forward to seeing a big turnout to honor the one and only Tracy Taylor Saturday night May 7th at Placerville Speedway. Also on the card are the BCRA Midgets co-sanctioned with the USAC Western States Midget series. The tracks always exciting 360ci Sprint Cars will run along with their Mini Truck division. The historic track is promoted by Scott Russell and Kami Arnold who were voted promoters of the year last year and in 2017 by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame. Pit gate opens at 2pm, front gate at 3pm with racing starting at 6:30pm. The 1/4 mile clay oval track is located in Placerville, CA at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds.

2022 BCRA Lightning Sprint - Points Standings as of 4/2/22
1 91 Matt Land Elk Grove, CA 146 -
2 25K Hunter Kinney Citrus Heights, CA 128 -18
3 47 Greg Dennett Livermore, CA 127 -19
4 37 Tim Kinser Woodland, CA 122 -24
5 3F Brandon Leedy Placerville, CA 117 -29
6 343 Tyler Gerdes Placerville, CA 105 -41
7 17F Harlee Aguilera Orangevale, CA 90 -56
8 41 A.J. Bender San Diego, CA 83 -63
9 35JR Dakota Albright Waterford, CA 76 -70
10 99 Gage Meyers (R) Placerville, CA 73 -73

Article Credit: Mark Sublett

Submitted By: Dakota Albright

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Ocean Speedway June 7th, 2019 BCRA Vs WMR Midgets
BCRA Midgets MAIN EVENT 6-8-19 Petaluma Speedway
Placerville Speedway July 27th, 2019 BCRA Midget Lite Main Event Highlights
USAC/BCRA Midgets MAIN 7-18-20 Petaluma Speedway
BCRA Midget Racing from LoanMart Madera Speedway on 3-28-15!
USAC/BCRA Midgets MAIN 6-10-17 Petaluma Speedway
Hoosier Tire
MM Racing Apparel