By, Mark Sublett

08-11-18 Merced, CA….Veteran race car driver Bobby Michnowicz from Lomita won the 5th annual “Wayne Albright Memorial” Bay Cities Racing Association Midget Lite main event in convincing style to take the $1,335 win at Merced Speedway Saturday night. The race held in memory of longtime car owner and all around nice guy Wayne Albright brought in added sponsorship to boost the payout with special awards for fast time and hard charger bonuses. Merced Speedway was the host track and the BCRA Midget Lites were the headline division, something the division rarely sees, making for a special event in honor of a special guy.

At the start of the 25 lap main event Brent Sexton from Lakeside grabbed the early lead over Citrus Heights’ Hunter Kinney. Racing was fast and furious the first few laps around the semi banked dirt tack. B. Sexton pulled out to a nice lead while H. Kinney and Oakdale driver Bradly Dillard waged an impressive duel for the runner up spot. B. Sexton’s lead was short lived however as he brought out the caution on lap 8 after he spun in turn one on the dry slick surface. H. Kinney took over the top spot with Bobby Michnowicz now second and Lakewood long tow Aiden Lange third. Michnowicz passed H. Kinney soon after the restart and pulled out to a 1/4 straight away lead until veteran Kiwi Alexander looped it in turn 3 bringing out the yellow flag slowing the action. On the ensuing restart Michnowicz pulled out to another lead but the racing for the runner up was outstanding as multi time BCRA Midget Lite champion Doug Nunes raced to the outside of H. Kinney and Dillard three wide to take the runner up spot. Over the final laps veteran Michnowicz raced away to take the big money win driving his DLX chassis. Nunes raced second with H. Kinney a solid third. Dillard ran fourth with sentimental favorite Dakota Albright from Waterford fifth. Steve Brown from Hickman raced past seven cars to earn the hard charger bonus money finishing sixth. Oakdale driver Danika Parker raced seventh with longtime competitor Brent Sexton eighth. Eric Greco Jr. finished ninth and Aiden Lange rounded out the top ten when the checkered flag dropped.

Twenty cars turned out for the highest paying Midget Lite race in Northern California with cars from as far away as San Diego towing to compete. A full program of qualifying, heat races and main event were ran. Dakota Albright, son of Wayne, kicked things off with a win in the first eight lap heat race. H. Kinney raced second with fast time qualifier Alexander third. Nunes from Kingsburg finished fourth. This heat race saw the return of 2006 BCRA Midget Lite champion Jeff Griffin from St. Helena driving the Rod Browning car and ex micro sprint ace Rex Jorn from Dinuba driving for Doug Nunes. Griffin lead early but faded late with Jorn passing him at the line for fifth in his first race back in 15 years. Brown won heat two in a green to checkered romp. Glendale log tow Greco Jr. finished runner up followed by veteran racer Terry Berstrom third. Michnowicz finished fourth followed by B. Sexton and Concord racer Adam Teves who was making his second ever start in the Steve Roza entry. The final heat saw Parker hold off past BCRA Midget Lite champion Scott Kinney by a half second with Lange a close third. Veteran racer Marshall Sexton raced fourth with Dillard and Grant Sexton rounding out the field. Next race for the BCRA Midget Lite Division is the season ending two day September 21-22 races at Placerville Speedway where the 2018 BCRA Midget Lite championship will be decided.

8-11-18 BCRA Midget Lites: “Wayne Albright Memorial” – Merced Speedway


Main Event: (25 laps) 1. Bobby Michnowicz 2. Doug Nunes 3. Hunter Kinney 4. Bradly Dillard 5. Dakota Albright 6. Steve Brown 7. Danika Parker 8. Brent Sexton 9. Eric Greco Jr. 10. Aiden Lange 11. Terry Bregstrom 12. Rex Jorn 13. Grant Sexton 14. Adam Teves 15. Brandon Leedy 16. Kiwi Alexander 17. Jeff Griffin 18. Marshall Sexton 19. Scott Kinney

HEAT 1. 1. Albright 2. H. Kinney 3. Alexander 4. Nunes 5. Jorn 6. Griffen 7. Leedy

HEAT 2: 1. Brown 2. Greco Jr. 3. Bergstrom 4. Michnowicz 5. B. Sexton 6. Teves

HEAT 3. 1. Parker 2. Kinney 3. Lange 4. M. Sexton 5. Dillard 6. G. Sexton