Lakeport Speedway Midget Results August 13, 2016

From the desk of Kevin Triplett

The Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA) mighty midgets paid a visit to Lakeport Speedway on Saturday night August 13 2016 as part of the track’s Fan Appreciation Night program with the BCRA vintage midgets and the track’s regular contingent of Bandeleros, Jammers, Bombers, and Legends cars.

Chad Nichols in the #17N Shanoian Special topped the field in time trials with a best lap of 12.015 seconds around Lakeport’s nearly circular paved ¼-mile oval. Nichols was joined in the 4-lap trophy dash by Michael Snider in his family’s #6K Beast, Darin Snider in the Champion Automotive #18, and Scott Pierovich in Del Morris’ #17K Beast/Esslinger. At the drop of the green flag for the trophy dash, pole-sitter Pierovich jumped into the lead and held the lead for all four circuits to claim the win.

Floyd Alvis and Bobby Wilson paced the field to the green flag for the 10-lap heat race, and Alvis led the first lap in his Stealth/Buick, before Pierovich executed a nifty outside move through turn one on the second lap to grab the lead. Later in the race, Nichols snuck around Alvis with his own outside pass to grab second place. At the drop of the checkered flag the finishing order was Pierovich, Nichols, Alvis, Wilson and JR Williams, as both Darin and Michael Snider failed to finish.

Before the evening’s feature races began, BCRA members joined a group of cars and drivers staged on the front straightaway for a very popular “meet and greet” session with the fans. Before the national anthem, fans and racers alike paused for a moment of silence for fallen racing hero Bryan Clauson, who passed away after an accident during the Belleville Nationals. As an additional tribute Saturday night all the BCRA racers carried a “BC” sticker on their race cars.

The evening’s fast qualifier Chad Nichols drew the “0” pill in the re-draw for the 30-lap feature lineup and thus started from the pole position. After the first start was called back, the field roared in the turn one with Nichols on point followed closely by Michael Snider and Pierovich. As Pierovich and Snider fought for second place, Nichols began to pull away from the field.

Pierovich passed Michael Snider with a slick inside move through turn three to claim second place, but by that point Nichols held a 20-car length advantage. As the race continued non-stop, Pierovich was unable to cut appreciably into Nichols’s lead as the pair worked lapped traffic. Mid-race, JR Williams experienced mechanical problems and pulled his #74 J & J Stealth into the infield, far enough off the racing line so that the racing action was not interrupted. Michael Snider’s car faded in the late laps and the cars of Darin Snider and Bobby Wilson both got around the #6K. Nichols led Pierovich, Darin Snider, Bobby Wilson, Michael Snider and Floyd Alvis to the checkered flag.

The battle for the BCRA season championship heads to Placerville Speedway on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds Saturday night August 20 as part of an action-packed 5-class program for Donnie Tilford Tribute night.


Powered by WordPress | Designed by: Dennis Daniel/Daniel Digital